Introduction

Knitting and Other Creative Endeavors  

img_4420-1


Who I Am

My name is Sophie, and I’m a (almost) 21-year-old college student who goes to school in Rochester, NY, and spends her summers in her hometown in the green mountains of VT.

At school, I major in a program called Digital Humanities & Social Sciences. It’s a combination of programming, digital design, and the humanities. As you can probably guess, I am very creative but also have a highly organized mind. This makes knitting a very good fit for me.

I’m an avid TV fan, and I’m currently watching the following shows (either on Netflix or on air):

  • The Office (UK)
  • Portlandia
  • The 100
  • Lost
  • Doctor Who
  • iZombie

What I Do

I am currently (as of July 4th) in the midst of my summer vacation, and using it to complete all sorts of crafting projects. I work full time for the state Agency of Transportation, and I sometimes have time on the job to work on personal projects. I use this time to knit, often while I listen to music or podcasts.

My favorite podcasts right now are Stuff You Should Know, and Stuff Mom Never Told You, but I am also looking for a good crafting or knitting podcast. Do you have any favorite podcasts? Let me know down below!

I buy as much of my yarn as possible from local yarn stores around the state, and I will be participating in the Great Northern Yarn Haul, which starts this Saturday, July 7th! I travel around the state for work, so I will hopefully have plenty of opportunity to visit local shops.

Do you have a favorite yarn shop in Vermont or the Rochester area? What is your favorite type or brand of yarn to use? Let me know in the comments!

 

On This Blog

Perhaps this is overly ambitious, but I am going to try to update this blog daily, or as often as possible, with updates on my latest knitting projects. Currently I am working on a pair of gloves, a hat, and a sweater. More information on those projects (and my future projects) in my upcoming posts.

I have only recently started trying to learn more about knitting beyond the basics, so this blog will also be my journey to improve my work, and maybe someday get to the level where I can start helping others.

Things I am currently working on learning:

  • lace knitting
  • double knitting
  • raglan sweaters
  • cables

Aside from knitting, I have several other creative hobbies, including:

  • makeup art
  • watercolor painting
  • writing
  • calligraphy
  • shopping (sort of kidding)

I will most likely post updates on all of these at some point. Let me know in the comments if there’s something specific you’d like to see more of!

Gallery

Below are some of the most recent pictures I’ve taken! If you have any questions please leave a comment 🙂 

Leave a comment